The Teddy Bear’s Pics, Nick!

For those of you who don’t know me very well, here’s a list of things I don’t do:

  1. Play sports.
  2. Watch sports.
  3. Participate in discussions about sports.
  4. Pretend to like sports to fit in.
  5. Give stuffed bears guided tours of Dublin City Centre.

Until now.

You can take out a sharpie and cross number 5 off your monitor (don’t actually do that), because it just ain’t true no more. Before Christmas, I went into Dublin with Kirk (he of Poplars and Coyote Trax fame) and a stuffed bear from Florida named Chet.

It was a favour for my girlfriend, who works at Chet’s Creek Elementary School: the bear is their mascot. He goes on adventures to distant places, and then “he” blogs about them, so the children at the school can learn about different parts of America, and of the world.

Writing up the account of the expedition from Chet’s perspective was interesting, because I’ve never written for kids before. Not that my writing is usually the pinnacle of maturity, but it’s a new experience for me to have to tailor my writing for a specific audience beyond “people with time to waste”.

And now my account is up on Chet’s blog, complete with vaguely embarrassing pictures, for all to see!

ATTENTION, READER: Go look.

2 Responses to The Teddy Bear’s Pics, Nick!

  1. garlicsoul says:

    That’s awesome. I had a similar kids project and a friend (a light) was kind enough to document a trip to New York. The kids loved it and so did I.

  2. Mister Hands says:

    Thanks for the comment, Garlicsoul. I think that’s the greatest thing about these kinds of projects – it’s all about giving the kids something fun to learn, obviously, but everyone involved enjoys it. One part I wish I had mentioned is how odd (and fun) it was for me to walk around Dublin like a tourist in my own home.

Leave a Reply

